The rival of Nissan Titan is here and it is called 2016 Toyota Tacoma! Of course, many will be on the opinion that both vehicles can't be compared, but it is fact that they are in the same segment. Let's see what makes the Tacoma so unique. First of all, it has been entirely rebuilt – inside and out. It features new engine, transmission and suspension and can handle any terrain. In fact, this is North America's best-selling mid-size pickup for ten years, with over seven million units sold since 1964. The new generation Tacoma has been built from the ground up. It features new frame with added high strength steel to improve rigidity and overall strength. In addition, the suspension was fine-tuned and now deliver smoother on-road ride but it is still capable of exceptional off-road management.

Speaking of the motor, the new pickup is driven either by the 2.7-liter four-cylinder engine and or the brand new 3.5-liter Atkinson cycle V6 unit. Both are coupled with a new six-speed automatic transmission with electronic shift delivering quick and easy shifting. There is also the option for a new six-speed manual transmission.

The aggressive appearance of the Tacoma is further strengthened by the wide wheels, ranging from 16 to 18 inches. The front end features bold upper grille and a taller, more muscular hood.  Mounted high above the clamp-shaped bumper sits slim, high technology headlights. They feature projection beam lamps with available LED Daytime Running Lights.

At the rear, the new locking tailgate emphasizes pickup's wide stance. The tailgate includes integrated spoiler and a stamped Tacoma logo as well as easy lowering feature. There is also an available tri-fold hard tonneau cover for securing the gear.

Inside, the interior includes "handlebar" design theme in the instrument panel, leather-trimmed seats and metallic accents as well as wide range of premium features. To mention some: Qi wireless charging, power moonroof, dual-zone automatic climate control, enhanced touchscreen audio and Blind-spot monitor with Rear Cross Traffic Alert.

In addition every Tacoma will come standard with a GoPromount located near the rear-view mirror. The drivers of the new pick-up will enjoy also abundant array of technology features such as Multi-Terrain Select system Automatic Limited Slip and Locking Rear Differential, Hill Start Assist Control, Clutch Start Cancel, Active Traction Control, and Crawl Control.

Toyota will enter the Tacoma on the market in five different grades both 4x2 and 4x4 configurations: SR, SR5, TRD Sport, TRD Off-Road and the top of the line Limited.

Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 1 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 2 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 3 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 4 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 5 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 6 of 7
Toyota Tacoma Family (2016) - picture 7 of 7

Video Source: YouTube

Source: Toyota